During normal circumstances, such as resetting a forgotten password or resolve problems caused by configuration, a system can be reset to the default configuration using the recovery program during boot. Old configuration revisions are preserved, in order for you to roll back to a previously working configuration.
Booting into the recovery partition
The recovery partition (also referred to as update and recovery firmware) can be accessed using a video or serial console. It is invoked during software update (non-interactively), but can also be used to perform a factory reset or reinstall a corrupted system partition.
This isn't necessary unless your system partition is corrupted, and needs to be overwritten.
- Connect to the console (video or serial)
- Press "f" after a few seconds when
Press `f` for update and recovery firmwareis displayed
Unlike the other recovery methods, a factory reset will erase all configuration on the appliance, leaving only the default configuration.
- Boot into the recovery partition
Article is closed for comments.